Mark your calendar for High Ground 2020

The Columbia Institute will hold its annual Centre for Civic Governance Forum at the Pinnacle Harbourfront Hotel in Vancouver, BC from Friday, March 27 to Saturday, March 28. Stay tuned for more information. In the meantime, take a look at last year’s program here 


Detailed schedule to be posted soon.


Alex Boston

Executive Director, Renewable Cities

Alison Gu (Moderator)

Councillor, City of Burnaby

Amber George

Indigenous Rights Advocate

Amy Lubik (Moderator)

Councillor, City of Port Moody

Anastasia French

Campaigns and Operations Organiser, Living Wage For Families

Andrew Nielsen

Housing Manager, City of Merritt

Anjali Appadurai

Climate Justice Campaigner, Sierra Club BC

Arshia Uppal

Founder, Climate Recentered

Barbara McMillan

Provincial Community Engagement Coordinator, United Way

Bowinn Ma

Minister of State for Infrastructure

Carleen Thomas

Special Projects Manager, Treaty, Lands and Resources, Tsleil-Waututh Nation

Charley Beresford

Public Policy Innovator

Cheeying Ho (Moderator)

Executive Director, Whistler Centre for Sustainability

Chinu Das

Councillor, City of New Westminster

Christine Ho Younghusband

Assistant Professor, School of Education, University of Northern British Columbia

Dan Laitsch

Associate Professor, Simon Fraser University

David Chudnovsky

Board Member, Institute for Public Education BC

El Jones

Community Activist, Journalist, and Poet

Gaetan Royer

CEO, CityState Consulting

Grace Park

Program Medical Director, Home Health, Fraser Health Authority

Guy Felicella

Harm Reduction Advocate

Halena Seiferling

Executive Director, Living in Community

Jennifer Reddy (Moderator)

Trustee, Board of Education, School District 39 (Vancouver)

Jennifer Wolowic

Strengthening Canadian Democracy Manager, Simon Fraser University

Jessica Yu

Public Health Researcher, University of British Columbia

Jonathan Morris

CEO, Canadian Mental Health Association (BC Division)

Joshua Seymour

Councillor, Lheidli T'enneh Nation

Kai Nagata

Communications Director, Dogwood

Karen Ranalletta (Moderator)

President, CUPE BC

Ken Melamed (Moderator)

Advisor, Columbia Institute

Kevin Kapenda

Co-Director & Co-Developer, Solid State Community Industries

Laird Cronk

President, BC Federation of Labour

Liz McDowell

Director of Digital and Campaign Strategies,

Marcy Cohen (Moderator)

Co-chair, Community-Based Seniors’ Services Leadership Council, United Way Healthy Aging Department

Mark Gamba

Mayor, City of Milwaukee, Oregon

Mark Tyndall

Professor, UBC School of Population and Public Health

Markiel Simpson

Activist, The BC Community Alliance

Matthew Norris

President, Urban Native Youth Association

Michael Brauer

Professor, Occupational and Environmental Health, University of British Columbia

Michael Eglison

Chair, Death Review Panel, BC Coroners Service

Moira Mackenzie

Board Member, Institute for Public Education BC

Moira Wyton (Moderator)

Health Reporter, The Tyee

Naheed Nenshi

Former Mayor of Calgary

Nathan Cullen

Minister of Municipal Affairs

Ned Taylor (Moderator)

Councillor and CRD Director, District of Saanich

Nikki Hill (Moderator)

Principal, Earnscliffe Strategy Group

Ravi Kahlon

Minister of Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation

Sarah Potts

Councillor, City of Victoria

Stephanie Atleo

Councillor, Cowichan Tribes First Nation

Stephanie Smith

President, BC Government and Service Employees' Union

Sussanne Skidmore

Secretary-Treasurer, BC Federation of Labour

Tariq Tyab

Co-Founder, Resilience BC and Foundation for a Path Forward

Temitope Onifade

Climate, Low-Carbon Regulation, and Governance Expert, School of Public Policy, University of British Columbia

Trent Derrick

Education Advocate

Yuill Herbert

Principal, Sustainability Solutions Group (SSG)